Behaviour Management

During my professional experience, I did not have the experience of facing any behaviour management issues with my children – they were all amazing! And that was great, but I know that doesn’t mean that I’m never going to be faced with  a situation where I will need to know all about effectively managing child behaviour.

You know what they say – there is no time like the present! So I did some reading, and I found 6 pointers that are important when considering how to deal with behaviour management.

  1. Be mindful of your own reaction
  2. Maintain rational detachment
  3. Be attentive
  4. Use positive self-talk
  5. Recognize your limits
  6. Debrief

Successfully undertaking these interventions are underpinned by a strong staff-student relationships, as they require an understanding of the underlying factors which may influence the behaviour. I also think that it is important to be fair and consistent and use low key responses such as ‘the look’, close proximity or signals in order to maintain a manageable classroom.

I think a good motto would be to be tough but fair.

Leave a Reply

